ICON wins Corporate Finance Firm of the Year 2006 and 3 more top awards at dealmakers gala

ICON Corporate Finance chalked up a record four wins – doubling its haul of last year, with founder and chief executive Alan Bristow claiming first place in the Dealmaker of the Year category.

ICON’s Eddie Harding went home with the award for the best corporate finance adviser for the second successive year whilst colleague James Thomas also received trophy number two as Young Dealmaker.

ICON ended rival firm Deloitte’s run of success over the past two years to claim the top prize of the night, the Corporate Finance Firm of the Year 2006.

The awards recognise the star performers amongst the corporate finance community and more than 400 leading lights from the corporate finance community attended the sell out gala dinner.

Alan Bristow, ICON’s CEO commented: “We were delighted to receive these awards, to top off what has been an outstanding year for ICON. I believe our success is due to our sector expertise, our pro-active approach to deal making and the ability of my team to get complex transactions over the line. Ultimately it’s all about knowledge, know how and experience.”

Recent deals for ICON include a series B funding of £12.3 million for smart sensor company DeepStream; a record deal and the highest VC fund raising last month, a £7.5m for Bristol University Spin out. Advanced Transport Systems, £2m for homeland security company Radiation Watch and the sale of Anvil Software to ION Trading, Prophit Share to The Innovation Group, AIM to the Trapeze Group and TCO to CACI International Inc.

The winners list included:

ICON Corporate Finance, Firm of the Year
Alan Bristow, ICON Corporate Finance, Dealmaker of the Year
Eddie Harding ICON Corporate Finance, Adviser of the Year
James Thomas, ICON Corporate Finance, Young Dealmaker of the Year

and also:

Paul Cooper, Osborne Clarke, Corporate Lawyer of the Year
Osborne Clarke, Law Firm of the Year
Bob Henry, Matrix, Venture Capitalist of the Year
Matrix, Venture Capitalist Firm of the Year
Paul Wood, RBS, Corporate Banker of the Year
HSBC, Corporate Bank of the Year
Lloyds Commercial Finance, Trade Finance Team of the Year